asking stupid questions

Lake Charles, LA

I am new to composting so will ask these dumb questions. I know that shredded paper is sometimes put in compost so can I just dump coffee and the filters in the compost? Can put used teabags in the compost
also ? thanks in advance. ss

Peoria, IL

Yes you can put the filters and tea bags in the pile. I do it all the time.

Lumberton, TX(Zone 8b)

I second that. Also can throw them in the worm bin if you have one.

Salt Lake City, UT(Zone 6a)

Think not what you can......think what you CAN NOT. Then anything goes......Anything organic can be composted you do not want to use dairy or meat (fish is OK if you bury it so as not to attract vermin).

Danielsville, GA(Zone 7b)

I even composted my ragged cotton welding hat,today,although I hate to depart with things so dear,it had to go,and what a good cause! Mike

Beachwood, OH

I usually pull the staples off the teabags if I think about it. I compost paper plates, napkins any paper that comes in the mail (minus stamps, celophane windows and glossy color pieces), paper towels, any kind of old cotton clothes - post cleaning rag stage, plain brown cardboard, printer paper, etc. You shouldn't compost colored inks unless you know for sure they are soy based and not synthetic chemicals.

I don't even put the coffee and filters in the compost bins anymore, it goes directly into the garden. You can hide the filters under plants or scratch them under a little soil and the worms love the coffee grounds. I work a section about 3 months at a time - throwing it out there every day. Its good organic feed for the plants, weeds don't grow in it and all the beasties are happy. Slugs don't crawl to it either.

Hughesville, MO(Zone 5a)

I have wondered for years about being able to use unused coffee grounds. If we can use cold coffee & the used grounds, can't we use unused coffee grounds or instant coffee is smaller amounts? Just wondering.

San Francisco Bay Ar, CA(Zone 9b)