Salvia and echinacea questions...

Clifton Park, NY(Zone 5a)

Greetings!

I am new here and enjoying all of the posts so very much. I think I probably should have cut back my salvia 2 weeks ago, but if I do it today, do you think I will still get a nice autumn flush of bloom?

Also, some creature is eating the petals on my coneflowers down to nothing - I am assuming japanese beetles, but I never catch them in the act. Do you think I should deadhead pretty hard - like a mini cutting back - and see if they refresh themselves or would you just leave them alone and wait for the dreaded beetles to go away?

Thanks so very much - it is a pleasure to run my thoughts past such wonderful gardeners.

Southern, CT(Zone 6a)

Cheshire, I'm not an expert but I would leave your coneflower alone unless any flowers are just ugly. I think Japanese beatles is probably correct. Why not do something to control them. There are organic and other options.
If your salvia is looking tired, cut it back. I think it has plenty of time for a new flush. Best book on what to cut back when & deadheading etc. is The Well Tended Perennial Garden. (If you read this forum a lot, you would think I have shares in her book.)

Welcome!
Dave (NOT DAVE)

Uh-oh, Dave, the only thing I am more addicted to than flowers is books. I am definitely in trouble, lol! Thank you - I think I am going to trot right out there and give that salvia the haircut it needs.

I suppose I really should just leave the coneflowers alone. We treat the lawn for grubs, which has helped a lot in the last couple of years, but they see all the flowers and fly in from miles around! In any event, I guess there is time for the beetles to go and the coneflowers to get a good second wind. It is such a bummer - I always think of them as tried-and-true-backbone-of-the-garden plants, that I can rely on for color every year but...not this year so far.

Appleton, WI(Zone 5a)

CC,