Sweet Potato Question?

Northeast, NE(Zone 5a)

Hi All,This is my first year attempt as raising my own sweet potatoes.Georgia Jets The vines sure do make the garden pretty but boy do they vine out all over the garden!!.I have had people tell me to make sure the vines as they are spreading do not anchor into the ground as it makes them yield less?Is this true?I don't want to go in there and mess anything up.Any tricks or tips anyone can share?Thanks!! Cedar

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

I plant sweet potatoes on lists and never disturb the vines. However if grown flat, they will put dowm feeder roots from the vine and start little potatoes. Does not seem to affect the yield but it is inconvenient to have little potatoes spread over a 4 to six foot area. This what mine looks like this time of year.

Thumbnail by Farmerdill
Northeast, NE(Zone 5a)

Farmerdill,Now Those are sweet potatoes!!.They really look nice.I think I will just leave mine alone and see what I get.The worst senario would be I will need to dig a little more all over! Thanks for the advice! Cedar

Alexandria, IN(Zone 6a)

I don't disturb the vines either and get very nice sized tubers. What a job that would be if you raise very many!!

I don't hunt or find potatoes out there in the vine area either.

This message was edited Aug 3, 2006 1:27 PM

Northeast, NE(Zone 5a)

Thanks Indy,I have 12 plants so I hope they produce good crop. People are depending on me to supply the sweet potatoes for Thanksgiving Dinner! I am still not certain .... when is the time to dig them??Do they have any indication as to when they are ready??Thanks Again Indy!! Cedar

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

Wouldn't a paper or heavy straw mulch keep them from re-rooting?

So.App.Mtns., United States(Zone 5b)

Farmerdill said

Quoting:
I plant sweet potatoes on lists

What does that mean?

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)