Thumbnail by lwkbriggs
St. Paul, MN(Zone 4b)

Gorgeous!

Erick

Willis, TX(Zone 8b)

Lisa..she is so gorgeous..Love that Clematis...How old is she?...Jeanne

Dunkirk, NY(Zone 6b)

Thanks, Jeanne and Erick,

She is three years old. This is the first time she bloomed, but did she bloom! I had almost forgotten about her....I won't make that mistake again.

Lisa

Willis, TX(Zone 8b)

Always remember to fertilize her in late winter/early Spring and again after she blooms with Rose Fertilizer or Tomato Fertilizer....Jeanne

Millersburg, PA(Zone 6b)

Lwkbriggs, what a beauty. I am new to clematis but ordered plants for this fall. None of them look like that beauty you show. I specified that I wanted tried and true varieties, until I learn to care for them properly and understand their pruning requirements.

Here is a 'before' pic of where I will plant them. If I can show vines next summer - I will be happy.
Claire

Thumbnail by se_eds
Willis, TX(Zone 8b)

I think they would look great...check it out....Jeanne

Thumbnail by JeanneTX
Willis, TX(Zone 8b)

Oh well ...I think you need a whole flowerbed there...Jeanne

Thumbnail by JeanneTX
Millersburg, PA(Zone 6b)

Oh my gosh - that is so neat!!! I know I can get by with the vines, will probably have to phase in the flower bed next year. My DH makes little noises about not having enough room to turn the riding mower around. He is partial to his old John Deere and won't even consider buying one of the zero radius mowers. Besides keeping it running is one of his hobbies.

Jeanne that is a really neat preview. Hope I can grow them. Dealing with Debbie is really great, she has made several helpful suggesstions like digging out the concrete soaked clay and replacing it with good soil. I will plant them behind the vinyl trellis and thread them through the trellis, so they don't get run over with the lawn mower. LOL
Claire

Willis, TX(Zone 8b)