I am new here :)

(Zone 4a)

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to gardening. I live in Ontario Canada and I honestly don't know where I should be posting. I mostly have perennial gardens and I have several clematis vines along with a honeysuckle vine and sweet pea perennails as well. I hate to jump into anything right away but I do have a few questions that are really nagging me right now.

1) I bought a Russian Sage today. I know they can get quite big. Is there anyway to keep this plant smaller? Could I dig it up in the fall if I find it gets too big and make it smaller? I was also wondering can I plant it in the container I bought it in and cut open the bottom for the roots?? Would this contain it somewhat?? TIA.

2) I have a Jackmanni that i planted in the spring (new). I need to move it. Should I do this in the fall or spring? When should I prune it back?? Fall or Spring??

Thanks in advance.

Southern, CT(Zone 6a)

Welcome Dawn! Can't really answer your questions (One way to keep your Russian sage small is to give it to me. Mine never get big, unfortunately ;^) otherwise, you could always cut it back to the size you want) but I wanted to say Hello and that we are glad to have you in the Northeast. Some of our New Yorkers and northern New Englanders will have very similar condions to yours.

(Zone 4a)

Aww thanks Dave - it feels good to be welcomed.

Fairfield County, CT(Zone 6b)

Welcome from me, too. I don't know anything about Russian Sage and very little about clematis. But I think they go dorment in the Fall and you could move it then. I moved my one clematis this spring and it seemed to do OK - except that I can't find it in my columbine jungle. It did bloom as I took a picture of it earlier this year - so I know that it survived.

Appleton, WI(Zone 5a)

Hi Dawn,
Welcome!