Do squashes sprawl?

Aurora, CO(Zone 5a)

Okay, maybe that's a dumb question, but I'm a newbie, so I don't know.

I took the garden cloche off one of my zucchini hills because the plants were getting pretty crowded in there. When I came back a while later, instead of an upright stem, they were sprawled on the ground. I watered them right away, thinking maybe they were just dehydrated.

Are squashes not supposed to grow upright? Should I put them in a tomato cage or stake them or something?

I sprayed them with pepper spray. I hope the varmints leave them alone. Today I found some excavation sites at the foot of my potato plants.

I think I see some flower buds forming on my biggest zuke plant!

Rutland , MA(Zone 5b)

just let them spread. i remember once seeing a bush type zucchini
somewhere but doubt it woujld grow as well as the regular kind. do you use the flowers in the kitchin??

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

This is actually one way a squash plant can survive the vine borer. It lumps itself along, re-rooting as it goes. If the first part of the vine dies, the next part may be fine.

Franklin, NC(Zone 6b)

.... and it depends on the variety. The ones described as "compact" tend to sprawl less, but even those will start to sprawl a bit if the season is long enough.

Aurora, CO(Zone 5a)

We got quite a bit of rain last night. The ground's still damp, and the zucchini are a little more upright. So maybe a lot of it was just dehydration.

I still wonder if I should train it to go up a tomato cage, just to keep the zukes off the damp ground.

Benton, KY(Zone 7a)

Squash just don't grow upright..when the posters above said that they are more compact, that simply means that they don't have very long vines...they'll still sprawl, and the squash should be just fine on the ground.