What makes lilacs happy?

Brewster, MA(Zone 6b)

I have two very old lilacs, one syringa vulgaris and one probably Ellen Wilmott.

I've been working on them for three years now, pruning, fertilizing (lime, compost both years; plus superphosphate last year) coddling, and I don't feel they're getting healthier at all. Took out 1/3 of the oldest wood the first year, ditto the second as it said to do in various books.

They're looking really spindly and bloomed even less this year than the previous two, even though I dead-headed them carefully two years in a row. This year I didn't even bother, since it didn't seem to have helped at all.

Any thoughts?

West Orange, NJ(Zone 6a)

Lilacs need a lot of sun and very good drainage. And dead-heading as soon as the blooms are spent is essential, since lilacs bloom on old wood. I dead-head mine as soon as the blooms don't look their best (a good reason to cut them to enjoy indoors!).

Sometimes you have to sacrifice a year of bloom when they get too spindly, in order to prune them into a good shape. Then you should see lots of blooms the following year. If you aren't having a problem with pests, I suspect they need a good haircut. I hardly fertilize mine.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

I wonder if you're treating them too well? I don't grow lilacs myself, but I was reading another thread where someone was saying that they're supposed to do well with little care, no fertilizing, etc. So all the lime/compost/superphosphate might be too much for them.

Mystic, CT(Zone 6b)

Make sure you don't have holes in the stems- Mine was going gangbusters till this year and it has Lilac-Ash Borer. They say it's tough to get rid of, but I am going to try to cut out the stems with holes in the fall and dispose of them quickly. That way if any borers are inside they will be gone.

Brewster, MA(Zone 6b)

Thanks, all.

West Orange, NJ(Zone 6a)

Hi again,