tomato growing in Georgiathe good, the bad, and the ugly

Athens, GA

Hi, I'm new to Dave's. I live in Athens, GA. As we all know, it's been hotter than jumper cables at a redneck picnic lately--not too good for tomatoes. So I've been trimming diseased leaves and watering every day. I've lost about 6 plants out of 27 due to heat and/or disease (most of my plants are heirlooms, but 2 of the losses have been "disease-resistant" hybrids!). I found some new stuff called Moisturin--an anti-transpirant (helps the plant retain moisture). Moisturin's not widely available yet, but has been tested extensively at the University of Oregon. The manufacturer sold me a little bottle of concentrate to try. It's supposed to be organic and environmentally friendly. I've heard of other things, like Neem Oil, which are more readily available. Has anyone had good success with a non-toxic product to help prevent diseases and desiccation in extremely hot weather?

Lilburn, GA(Zone 7b)

Hello and welcome to Dave's World !

I tried a new approach for my tomatoes this year. I bilt a 12ft x 3 ft raised bed made of cinder blocks. I filled it with shredded composted leaves and 3 bags of black cow. I put in an irrigation drip system too and water 15 min every other day. I planted 2 cherry sweet 100's and 5 better boys.

I am now getting a ton of cherries and sofball sized better boys. My plants are deep green and falling out of the bed. My cherries are over 7 ft tall. Absolutely the best crop I have ever raised. Best of all, the heat does not seem to bother them at all.

Now, my sister planted her 30 beter boys right in the ground and they are experiencing the same problems that you are describing.

Here's a great compost that plants really explode over !!
http://paulgadawg.turnwill2.hop.clickbank.net