Whiskey Barrels

Chatham, IL(Zone 5b)

I bought a whiskey barrel... actually a half barrel to plant tomatoes in. It worked wonderfully. So I bought another half barrel and put plants into it. ornamental peppers, Sedum, and some nice flowers. Well some of the barrels are watertight. My first one was not.. my second one certainly was. With the temps breaching 100F each day I gave the second barrel a good long watering. The next day I noticed that the plants were not recovering from the wilting of dehydration at all. In fact, the next day there was standing water in the second barrell, so I kicked it.... the soil inside was the consistancy of cake batter. I took a drill and made a hole in the side near the bottom. That fixed the problem. From the ricketdy condition of the barrels I figured that they had lost their ability to hold liquid... but apparently sometimes they outperform.

I'm just learning about gardening in half wine barrels, but I thought it was a good idea to pre-soak the barrels before I plant in them. I drill about 6 holes in the bottom. When I pour in the planting mix, I dampen it pretty well and then plant. Whenever the soil dries out, I water until water comes out of the bottom. It has been 104 to 106 everyday here in the mountains so lots of water is necessary. The barrels are really working - no more plants lost to gophers! How do the tomatoes work out? I want to try that next Spring. How many plants can you put into the barrel?

Ottawa, ON(Zone 5a)

Yes, the wooden staves absorb the water and swell, making the barrel virtually watertight. The soil and roots can go punky (rotten).

Fallbrook, CA(Zone 10b)