Silly Question

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

OK - this is my first year doing any vegetable growing. I love the learning process. I have a silly question....how do you know when eggplant is ripe? Can they become overripe?
Thanks,
Anita

Carmel, NY(Zone 6b)

There's no such thing as a silly question! I've only been gardening for a few years myself, and the biggest thing I've learned is how much I DON'T know!!!

I generally find that as the eggplants are aging, they start to lose their lustre and begin to "shrink" inside their skin. So, I generally pick them when they are still slightly firm to the touch and shiny. As they age, they become rubbery, or leathery, to the touch and taste tough.

Happy gardening!

This message was edited Jul 18, 2006 12:21 PM

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

What Sequee said. Note that you don't want ripe eggplants, like summer squash, they are are used as immature fruits. As they mature they become inedible. You can pick them anytime up until they lose thier shiny lustre.

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

Thanks. Then I have lots to pick!!!! I thought they had to get bigger!

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Depending on the cultivar, some get quite large. Lots of folks let them get to maximum size before picking. Once they start to mature tho , quality goes downhill like a bobsled racer. Purples are easy, they start down as they lose the glossy sheen. Whites and greens also, but they arenot so obvious.

This a Twilight that is still glossy but starting to mature.

Thumbnail by Farmerdill
Carmel, NY(Zone 6b)

Holy moly! That's one big a** eggplant!!! (And, yes! I am envious! Mine haven't gotten beyond the flower stage yet!)

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

Mine is a small cultivar. I think I have a ton that are ripe. I think they are called Small Boy...I'd have to double check the tag.

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Not familiar with that one, But that are quite a few cultivars that are not designed to get larger than hen eggs.