How does one pronounce "Heuchera"?

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

A lady at the garden centers today said the name as 'hukara'. Is that right? Funny thing is, in Dictionary.com, there is no pronounciation guide for this word. Please advise.

Orangeville, ON(Zone 4b)

Hi Blue,
I was saying Heuchera the wrong way for so long that it's laughable now. If you look under the Botanary tab up top, you will find all the pronunciations you could ever want. Okay, since I couldn't get the link to work, here's what Botanary has for Heuchera: HEW-ker-uh

edited because I had a blonde moment

This message was edited Jul 10, 2006 10:13 PM

This message was edited Jul 10, 2006 10:16 PM

White Lake, ON(Zone 4b)

Hi Blue Ash,

Yep, it's pronounced HEW-ker-uh. For the longest time I pronounced it hew-CHER-a.

Erynne,

I've never used that Botany tab before. Thanks for pointing that out!

Sandy

Orangeville, ON(Zone 4b)

That's exactly how I was saying it Sandy! Great minds think alike huh, lol..

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

Cool! THanks for pointing out the Botany Tab. Gosh, guess I am not the only one who's been saying that name wrong. Like you, Sanannie, I've been saying hew-CHER-a. I read that this plant is named after some German guy named Heucher. It makes sense that the "ch" sounds like "k", doesn't it?

Thank you both for sharing this potentially embarassing secret.

Delhi, IA

When I see some of these words with the correct pron. I write it on a card and repeat it a couple of times a day until it comes automatic. This is especially helpful if it is a word you have pronounced inc. for a long time. When just visiting and using it a change is hard to make stick.

Central, WI(Zone 4a)

I was also pronouncing it wrong until recently. It's really hard to get used to pronouncing it the right way.

Gravois Mills, MO(Zone 6a)