angel trumpets? does anyone grow these and have pics?

Phenix City, AL(Zone 8a)

pretty sure this is what i seen growing at our local post office...will bring camera and take pics in the next few days. who grows these around here? how do they do for you? bloom time, care, etc. good gardening - jon

Barnesville, GA(Zone 7b)

Jon, I'm a newbie to them myself so cannot offer much advice. If you go to the brugmansia forum you will find a number of growers in Georgia. One that comes to mind is Georgiaredclay, another is Violabird.

Jackson, SC(Zone 8a)

BRugmansia forum here and datura forum hee are two really wonderful resources.

also it depends on which one you have as both are named angels trumpets.

Barnesville, GA(Zone 8a)

I have a Brug-care website and deal mainly with local folks and the U of GA garden. I'll dmail the info for you, it's a lot eaisier then reading thru all the posts on the forum, K?
Vi

This message was edited Jul 12, 2006 9:04 AM

Phenix City, AL(Zone 8a)

thanks vi......i'll check it out. good gardening - jon

Jon, I grow them. Unfortunately, with the drought they have just not done as well as usual! I am usually on my 2nd flowering.

I grow more "common" types and they all do excellent and are hardy in the garden provided you take care to keep out excess winter wetness from their hollow stem. I do this by cutting them back to about 4" from the ground in late fall (after they have had a light frost and are droopy), then throwing an extra large garden pot over top of them. To keep the pot in place I just throw a stone or brick on top which also absorbs heat in the winter.