Starting a Compost

Hartselle, AL

Can anyone give me some advice on starting a compost pile? I'm new at this so it seems as though I'm asking some pretty stupid questions, but here goes.... What type of things do I put in it and the things that I don't want to put in it.....how to take care of it......what direction it should face.....when and how I should use it.....or anything else I haven't thought to ask. Any advice is welcome.

Thanks,

Sheri

Josephine, Arlington, TX(Zone 8a)

Sheri, here is an article about composting that may be of help to you.

http://www.texasstar.org/index.php?pg=composting

Josephine.

Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

Sheri welcome to the "compost pile". We have discussed many things such as you are asking in this thread so read first and then ask what you want. Glad you are here. http://davesgarden.com/forums/t/583906/ This is a whole summary

Thumbnail by Soferdig
Hartselle, AL

Thanks for your advice....I have started reading some of the threads on here and probably will get some good ideas. I like the pic of yours there Soferdig. I have some landscape timbers that I thought about making mine with. I'm new on DG.....so pardon my ignorance. I'll try the Hyperlink too and see what I can find out...thanks Josephine.

Sheri

Lombard, IL(Zone 5b)

It is gonna take years for that mower to compost.

Sheri, you might want to reconsider the landscape timber idea. Those are probably treated and depending on what you are planning on using the compost for, you might not want to expose it to potentially harmful chemicals.

Hartselle, AL

Good catch Willis....hadn't thought of that. Do you have any suggestions? It won't be a big one. What about blocks....will that suffice for now?

Sheri

Cement blocks is what I use and they work great, you can even reconfigure your bin to suit your needs, without mortar or nails.

Hartselle, AL