Variegated Fern Pics

Key West, FL(Zone 11)

Hello all,
Im new to ferns and mosses and have been playing with them down the side of my house which seems to be the perfect place for the natives. This is my first fern purchase "Tiger Fern" Nephrolepis exaltata.

I love variegated plants and this fits the bill all too well.
Does anybody else have pictures of variegated ferns.

Thumbnail by celt33040
Bessemer City, NC(Zone 7b)

Thanks for posting the detailed pic.

That kind of variegation is a delight up close!

Robert.

Key West, FL(Zone 11)

I discovered this one in my search online.
Variegated Oak Leaf Fern
Seems to be very rare
Anybody seen it?

Thumbnail by celt33040
Bartlesville, OK(Zone 6a)

Ooooohhh I like that one, the Tiger Fern.

Like the other one too. LOL

Susan
=^..^=

Oh, that one's lovely too!

Robert.

Gent, Belgium(Zone 8a)

Kay West,

I only have one variegated fern which is called 'The Japanese painted fern' or its botanical name : 'Athyrium niponicum Pictum'. It grows outside in my garden in full shade (West European climate, still don't know how to figure out in what zone I'm living) . It seems that when planted in lighter shade, like with a few hours sun in the morning it shows more vibrant colours.

Thumbnail by bonitin
Key West, FL(Zone 11)

Bonitiin
That's a very nice fern. I love the silver grey. Is that new growth tufts on the end or is that just the shape of the leaf.
As for the Zone you are in , its hard to translate the USDA zones to Europe because the variation in Summer and winter Temps, tends to be much greater over here. Mostly it refers to the minimum temps. in winter
ie.
Hardiness of the plants to withstand low temps.
USDA Zone 5a: to -28.8° C (-20° F)
USDA Zone 5b: to -26.1° C (-15° F)
USDA Zone 6a: to -23.3° C (-10° F)
USDA Zone 6b: to -20.5° C (-5° F)
USDA Zone 7a: to -17.7° C (0° F)
USDA Zone 7b: to -14.9° C (5° F)
USDA Zone 8a: to -12.2° C (10° F)