As promised...pictures of my garden

Athens, OH

As many of you know, I have been doing deer resistance studies for the past 4 years. So my gardens have consisted of 1 plant of each type with a tag. Location of each plant was mostly based on space availability and light/moisture conditions. Now, I am taking out the plants that I didn't really love/the deer did love, putting the non-resistant plants I loved in the fenced in back garden and buying more of what I love. The result is a bit of chaos! Parts of the garden are ordered and elegant, other parts are riotous jungle, and some parts are just "what was she thinking" combinations of colors.

So here goes....

Our house is on a hill. It is actually sited on the old farm site, so sometimes we find heirloom flowers in the surrounding woods. In the front, I have a L-shaped bed which is ~15' and 30' on on side and 50' on the other. The hedge needs to be trimmed (privet always does]. If you look closely you can see some EE in the foreground and some amaryllis in the background. The hedge in front of the house is rhododredron (shocking fuschia!) and the tree on the right is a wisteria (standard form).

Thumbnail by rox_male
Athens, OH

He is the longer side of the L-shaped bed.
Here are more EE, including the 8' tall A. macrorrihiza, and gaillardia.
In the middle is a baptisia that I adore. It is very tall, about 5 feet, and grows like a tree and has large white blooms. [Baptisia alba var. alba Wayne Co. Form]

Thumbnail by rox_male
Athens, OH

If you continue to the end of the L-shaped bed you will get to our upper driveway. Here there are two smaller gardens. These are next to the neighbors, who we like a lot, so I try to weed and keep it in check.

The baptisia is a yellow form. The pink flowers are lychnis coronaria (I have lots of seedlings. Interested?) On the right you can see the Salvia maynight. In the middle is asclepias balleria. The tall plant is a wild verbascum (about 7 feet tall).

Thumbnail by rox_male