Iris ensata hardiness test

Belfield, ND(Zone 4a)

I have had different growers tell me that Japanese iris should be hardy to zone 4, but I've not found any solid information to back that up. I would like to try a test in my own gardens to see what happens.

Would anyone have a common, even less desirable cultivar that they would be willing to trade me for? I would pay postage too if you would be willing to do that in the name of research and I don't have anything you are looking for. LOL

I considered ordering some from the co-op, but I only need three divisions to plant in various parts of my yard to see how they do. With the co-op you have to order 6 and since I don't know what's going to happen to them, I don't want to do that. I also don't need three different cultivars. Three divisions of the same cultivar would do.

Can anyone help me with this?

Joan

Deer River, MN(Zone 3b)

Joan,

I've been growing 7 different JIs in pots here in zone 3b since 2003. They haven't increased much or bloomed much (only 3 of them have bloomed at all, and each of them has only done so once since I acquired them), but at least they're still alive. I really haven't been treating them terribly well, either, so their lack of increase and bloom performance may very well be my fault.

In my very limited experience, the JIs I'm growing are perfectly cold hardy. If you give them what they need for optimal growth -- acid soil, full sun, LOTS of water, pine needle mulch, and a balanced fertilizer -- I would expect them to do fine for you.

I'm sure you realize that testing a single cultivar will only tell you what that particular iris will or won't do in your garden. It won't tell you much of anything about how JIs in general will perform for you. If you want a somewhat more meaningful test, go ahead and order at least 6 different JIs from the co-op and see how they do.

Laurie

Belfield, ND(Zone 4a)

Thanks Laurie.