What can't you bonsai??????????

Javea, Spain(Zone 10a)

He everyone

I have never done bonsai before but am strangely attracted to it. What I'd like to know is if there is any type of plant which will NOT successfully bonsai. For instance...grasses.....aloes.......cacti ?????????? And if not WHY not?

Sorry if this seems like a silly question but - there's no point in wasting time trying things any bonsai expert would tell you not to bother with.

Thanks
Lizzy

Tampa, FL(Zone 10a)

Liz,

You can bonsai anything, here is one from Japan.

This message was edited Jul 8, 2006 5:29 AM

Thumbnail by DaleTheGardener
Tampa, FL(Zone 10a)

yes, anything

Tampa, FL(Zone 10a)

I just found out that if you don't send a message with your photo the cyber ghosts eat the photo, go figure!

Tampa, FL(Zone 10a)

and of course even the traditional style can use the less common plants, like, say, bamboo

Javea, Spain(Zone 10a)

Thanks Dale...I don't know if I like the weedy grassy ones and wonder if the bonsai-ing of them does miniaturize them compared to their natural growth. The fern is cute but not what I would think of as bonsai - as in miniature compacted growth...What do you think of them?

Tampa, FL(Zone 10a)

I think they all have their own 'charm'. They are in the Emperor of Japans collection. They are minature slices of the natural world to my eyes. The white asters are only about 1/10 the height they would be in the ground (guessing since there is no scale). The fern is a ostrich? they get up to 4 feet.
They are not stunning like the trees can be after 200 years. They are almost like islands of nature, a snapshot.

this photo is just wallpaper..

Bandung, Indonesia

Do you have any comments about this bonsai - one of Bonsai Star Gallery ([HYPERLINK@www.bonsaistar.com]) collections?

Species : Juniperes Chinensis

Style : Slenting

Height : 32 cm

Thumbnail by limadijaya
Tampa, FL(Zone 10a)

It is beautiful.

Las Vegas, NV(Zone 9b)