butterflies of Georgia???

Lilburn, GA

Hi!

How can I find out the types of butterflies that visit georgian gardens? I tried google but did not find anything useful. I am trying to do a butterfly garden but first I have to find out who comes here so I can plant the right host/nectar plants.
thank you
anna

Alpharetta, GA

Try this site, it should get you started.
http://agr.georgia.gov/00/article/0,2086,38902732_0_41919462,00.html

Cordele, GA(Zone 8a)

jmzms gave you a good resource. I'm no expert, but I was determined to have a butterfly garden this year. I used this resource along with hgtv.com . My garden has attracted alot of bees but I also have the 'flying flowers' and hummers too. I actually witnessed a swallowtail lay eggs on my curly parsley. It was no time before I had lime-green caterpillars with black dashes across their backs. They ate a whole cup of parsley within three days. I was elated!

Be sure to plant Yarrow. Butterflies seem to use it like an airport landing strip. It's true that if you plant it, they will come!

I have a garden full of plants to attract butterflies and to supply food and water source. This year I got a few, very few catipillars and now nothing. No butterflies, bees, but many of the bees are dying right in my garden.
I'm organic.
I think someone in my area is spraying pesticides heavily, and it's very sad...

GGG

Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

I have a vitex chaste tree http://davesgarden.com/pf/showimage/39966/ and cannot believe the numbers of bees, butterflys and other insects it attracts. I have built a new web site for the DeKalb County Federation of Garden Clubs and they kept adding pages and I kept going out to find new and interesting things to photograph for the new pages - this little tree was my bounty!!! Every time I could count on it for several new and interesting critters.

http://www.dekalbfederation.com/default.html and check out the little lightning bug (?) on the calendar page.