A couple of newbie questions

Melbourne Beach, FL(Zone 10a)

I'm new to DG and brand new to composting. I've been gardening for quite a while and having spent lots of $$ on bags of stuff to enrich my sandy soil I decided I MUST compost. Ignorance has largely kept me from composting thus far. But since joining DG I've learned enough that I think I can get started -- thanks to you all!!

If anyone can help with several probably really dumb questions I'd be very happy!!

First, I'm on the beach in Florida. Consequently I don't have brown matter. The only leaves I have are palm fronds and with St. Augustine grass (mixed with a major amount of weeds!) I don't have clippings. So what do I do about brown stuff?

I don't have any kind of chipper or even a lawn mower -- I concentrate on gardening flowers/veggies/trees and have a guy who mows the weeds (read grass). Do I need to chop garden clippings/plant material up? Any ideas about how to do this with minimal equipment?

Does anyone have any tips on clean efficient methods of saving kitchen scraps? Do you just keep some sort of bucket or something in the kitchen and take it out daily? I'm so used to putting everything down the garbage disposal it's taking me some time to get used to saving! LOL!

I have quite a bit of green material -- lots of veggie peelings & other kitchen scraps & clippings & trimmings from plants. Other than brown stuff (once I figure out a source for that) is there anything else I need to add? Aside from some water when necessary....

Thanks so much for any help. I must do this! It's important!

Peoria, IL

Shredded junk mail is my primary source of brown material.

You don't HAVE to shred garden stuff and plant material for composting. Shredding helps speed up the decomposition process - but its not required.

It is best to shred paper products though, else they clump together and take forever to decompose.

My largest source of greens is pulled weeds. I don't shred them...