cutting back rebloomers ??

Loysville, PA(Zone 6a)

I am rather new to dealing with irises. I had just gone out the other evening and thought I'd houseclean the few that I have. I cut off all the stalks. Then I remembered that 2 of them are supposed to be rebloomers. Did I just cut off the chance to see another bloom this year or will they send up new stalks.?

Deer River, MN(Zone 3b)

Rebloom occurs on new bloomstalks. No problem cutting off the old ones.

Laurie

Loysville, PA(Zone 6a)

Thanks Laurie, Now I don't have to be mad at myself for doing something stupid. ;)

Deb

Newark, OH(Zone 5a)

Willit_Grow.......................I love that name!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Celina, TN(Zone 6b)

Willit_Grow,
I was wondering the same thing. Some of mine looked so down and out without rain and the heat. I clipped some and then remembered there might be a few rebloomers .
Winnie

Loysville, PA(Zone 6a)

Thanks Lotusblossom, I like yours also.
It really does fit me. I just plant the stuff and wait to see if it will grow. I wanted to put the "?" on the end but couldn't cause of the rules and regs of DG

Winnietn,
I guess you were glad to see Laurief's reply then too...
Even thou I've had a couple of irises in the past years this is the first year that I realized just how much I like them. So now I'm gonna try to do it right.

Happy gardening everyone !
Deb

Cedar Rapids, IA(Zone 5a)

You WANT to cut the old stalks and not let it go to seed. You want the energy to go into producing more roots or reblooming. ALL iris do better if you remove the spent stalks. :)

Loysville, PA(Zone 6a)

Thanks Wanda, that sums it up and I know from viewing other threads that you have a "few" irises. ;)
Deb

Nichols, IA(Zone 5a)

Willit_Grow, love the name too, but find myself singing ''Will it Float'' song from David Letterman. Laugh!

Loysville, PA(Zone 6a)

billyporter, glad it makes ya sing ! It probably doesn't make anyone want to plant anything ;)
Deb

Cullowhee, NC(Zone 6b)