acorn squash

Plano, TX

I recently planted acorn squash because i love them. They are just now coming up and i was wondering if there were any tricks or secrets i should know about? I have been a gardner a long time but have never grown winter squash. all replies will be appreciated- fred

Benton, KY(Zone 7a)

Stink bugs are my biggest problem...they suck the whole plant dry...keep an eye out for them when you have almost mature plants and squashes...they won't be a problem till then.

Los Angeles, CA(Zone 10a)

Melody, what does a stink bug look like? My acorn squashes look so beautiful now. I would fallout if I looked at them and they were sucked dry.

Sonoma County, CA(Zone 8b)

I was disappointed with my acorn squash last year. They were very slender, not very "acorny" looking. Was it the variety or something envornmental?

Here's a pic of one of my acorns. I am so ecstatic since this is my first attempt at growing them.

Thumbnail by kanita
Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Looking good. Stinks are a large family. Most folks hate the one commonly known as the squash bug. Most of the damage they do for me is cosmetic altho in sufficient numbers they can destroy a plant. They can also vector viruses. Usually problems with squash is a totally different critter, the vine borer. http://www.uky.edu/Ag/Entomology/entfacts/veg/ef314.htm

Thanks for the info Farmer Dill.

Hughesville, MO(Zone 5a)