Delphiniums....never to return

Buffalo, NY(Zone 6a)

I really need guidance here. Every year I plant Delphiniums. they never do well. I've planted them in various spots to no avail. They never come up the next year. Total loss. I planted the last ones in a bed with Liatris, Tall Summer Phlox, Day Lilies etc. Everything does great. Except the Delphiniums. Lots of sun, well drained soil. I love this plant. It reminds me of my grandmother's garden. Can someone advise me? A nurseryman told me that the Delphiniums of today are not the same as the ones grown 40 to 50 yrs. ago. Is this true? I'm not giving up on this.

Nichols, IA(Zone 5a)

I've been growing them since 1990. I started with Conneticut Yankee. In 1992, a guy grew Blue Springs and gave me some, but I don't think any are left. They had stiff spikes. Conneticut has a bushier habit. So far, I've had them in full sun in ordinary soil, but they seemed to need watering. Right now all are growing under a walnut tree. I have a pale blue with pink, deep blue, and purple with blue. They seem to regrow from the original plant. I don't feed or mulch. They don't like it dry, but need to be well drained, or they will rot. I hope you try again. I too really love them. I also start tying them up when they get over a foot tall. The wind can really make a mess out of them.

(Zone 7b)

Remind me in the fall, and I'll send you seed from mine, with instructions on how to plant - I guarantee you some beauties, these have been growing for 6-7 years, and I've moved with them twice!

They are a little more difficult to start from seed, but the plants last much longer.

They set copious amounts of seed, too - I've got several different shades of blue - from light to dark.

Thumbnail by 2zeus
Pasco, WA(Zone 6b)

2zeus, Oh my gosh! Those are beautiful!
Sherry

(Zone 7b)