Orchid tree

Concord, CA(Zone 9a)

I saw somewhere this orchid tree someone made in their greenhouse. I am interested in trying this. If anyone know how to go about this I would be real interested. I have some orchids growing in the greenhouse now but not sure what type of orchids to use for the tree, how to attach them ect. Thanks in advance.
Linda

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

Linda,

My approach would be to attach the orchid to the tree with floral wire, then put some moss or something around the roots (not quite sure how you would get that to stick though!) . I would recommend checking with the people on the orchid forum to find out which orchids might be most appropriate. They might be more familiar with this idea too and could point you to pictures/directions.

Fulton, MO

The way I've seen it done is to build the "tree" out of PVC and then cover it with cork or another kind of organic covering. Then attach the orchids.

SB

Tampa, FL(Zone 10a)

I am a former resident of the Bay Area and tried many orchids. Try Epi's.

I had a place up in Lake County and we had manzanita trees. Very hard wood and that would stand up to the greenhouse type conditions you have in mind.

The easiest orchids to grow are epidendrum ibaguense (radicans) and their hybrids. When I went to the orchid shows I would see them mounted on cork by some growers. They flower all year long, make lots of 'pups', grow fast and would do well in your area. I used them as a hedge plant on my roof top garden in SF.

I would tie them in place with some kind of soft natural tie, something that would decompose over time, but, not too quickly. Twine would be good. You could wrap them several times around the roots and it would also blend in, add some insulation for the roots and hold moisture.