Aquilegia isn't what I thought it was!

North East England, United Kingdom(Zone 8a)

I bought some seeds last year of a long spurred yellow aquilegia. Imagine my disappointment when I grew these!

Thumbnail by Galanthophile

They are pretty enough...

All is not lost - I have at least 1 true plant!

Cramlington, United Kingdom(Zone 8a)

Well Nora Barlow isn't a bad replacement, but I'm glad you got the long spurred yellow as well. It's charming.

Gorgeous photos!

Central, WI(Zone 4a)

Both are lovely.

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

I really like the pink one better, but they are both lovely. Funny how seeds surprise us sometimes.

susan

Citra, FL(Zone 9a)

Galanthophile, I can imagine your disappointment. Those are pretty, but not the same. I'm just getting started with planting from seed, and I think that if I waited and waited for a certain flower and it wasn't it, I might get a bit discouraged. Glad you got one of what you wanted.

Why should there be such a discrepancy from seeds you purchased? To me, it's like buying pepper seeds and getting tomatoes!

Exactly! I was glad I only had to wait one season - imagine if it was something that took 3 or 4 years to flower!

Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)

Personally, I like the 'wrong' ones much better. Way more interesting.

Victor

comebychance, NL(Zone 5b)

i agree with victor,beautyful columbine and i wouldn't over look the yellow one as will.

Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

Ahh the pleasure of seed propagation. Life is like a box of chocolate, you never know what you will get. Much like my seed collection this year I will never know what to expect. Sometimes the little bug gets under the netting to make surprises at the nursery. Todays photos of the columbines.

Thumbnail by Soferdig

gees what a beautyful pic ,soferdig

here a pic of the water tower in my
town

This message was edited Jun 11, 2006 4:18 PM

Thumbnail by digging_dirt
Citra, FL(Zone 9a)