Corn tassels, and no ears ?????

Claremore, OK(Zone 6a)

I planted Kandy Corn and it looks great. The stalks are nice and green and look so pretty and healthy.
Now I'm just beginning to see the tassels forming in the top of the plants, but I don't see any sign of what would look like ears of corn. Do the tassels come on before the ears form ? I figured that was the reason for the tassels, was to drop pollen onto the corn silks. Anyone else notice this with yours ? Maybe this is how it's supposed to be, but I wouldn't know. Maybe I'm getting excited about nothing. Someone else who is more experienced care to comment ?

Washington, MO(Zone 6a)

Corn, tassles a few days before it silks.

Brimfield, MA(Zone 5a)

Peggie, I'm in zone 5. What date you put out your Kandy Korn? That is the type I am growing next season.

Thanks!

Claremore, OK(Zone 6a)

Gosh, I don't really remember when I put it in. I know I made a point of making sure we were past the frost time though. I think I planted around the 2nd or 3rd week of April.
I think Kandy is about 80 days, isn't it ? Anyway, I grew it last year and the taste and texture is wonderful. Last years crop didn't produce much though, it was a first year garden and the soil needed a lot of help. But the few it did make were really tasty.
I just couldn't remember when I started to see the ears forming in relation to when the tassels came on. Since I didn't have that many, hehe

Alexandria, IN(Zone 6a)

I used to raise Kandy Korn in the early '80s. It was good eating. It blew down so badly on me in storms as it grows quite tall.

I have found that corn planted here in April takes about 10 days longer to mature than listed and corn planted in early June takes about 10 days less than listed!

Claremore, OK(Zone 6a)

Yippee y'all. There are pretty pink silks coming out on all my stalks.