Anyone know what this is??

Bettendorf, IA

This is sticking out of the ground and seems to be growing from a small pod-like thing thatis round and looks a bit like an eyeball. I am guessing a mushroom but I have never seen such a thing. There were (are still???? yikes!) several of the little "balls" in the mulch that look like a round regular store bought mushroom but when you open them are creamy colored and gooey inside. I found many of them when I was planting a flat of annuals and just removed and threw them out. Apparently this is what they turn into. Should I be scared? LOL

Thumbnail by pegzhere
KC Metro area, MO(Zone 6a)

I don't know what that is but I hope I never see one in person. Looks like gooey fingers or something. UGH!

Ballwin, MO

Have you called NASA? It looks like some alien being sprouting from your soil to prepare a takeover!LOL! What is it with these nasty looking mushrooms?

Marshall, MO(Zone 5b)

Mind you I'm no expert, but the nearest thing I can find to it in my feild guide is " Elegant Stinkhorn". The green slime is the spore mass, and it has a fetid odor. It is usually found from July to September Quebec south to Flordia and west to the Great Lakes.

Elegant? They call that elegant? I think someone needs to rename it to stinky, ugly fingers from outer space.

Washington, MO(Zone 6a)

Mutinus elegans.

Bettendorf, IA

~~~~~~ Have you called NASA? It looks like some alien being sprouting from your soil to prepare a takeover!LOL! What is it with these nasty looking mushrooms? ~~~~~~

I literally LOL reading this! That is exactly what I felt like. When we first found it my reflex action was to tell the kids "back away - don't go near that!" Later when I found where there were little ball like mushrooms where this thing comes from we went hunting for them and filled 2 6" pots. I hope/pray I got most of them. For sure I didn't though and they are out there...lurking...waiting...