Thumbnail by skaz421
Wesley Chapel, FL(Zone 9a)

I don't want to lose them.

Thumbnail by skaz421

Please give me advice?

Thumbnail by skaz421
Gamleby, Sweden(Zone 7a)

skaz, I just read another tread here in the canna forum and there was a google link for leafrollers and the damage they make. on one of your leaves you seam to have some holes that leafrollers do. BUT I am not an expert so maybe there is another problem.
Here is the google
http://images.google.com/images?q=canna%20leaf%20roller&hl=en&btnG=Search%20Images

And here is the tread where they say what to do and use
http://davesgarden.com/forums/t/586364/
Hope this helps
Janett

Janett,

Thanks for your input. I looked all over the plants for varmints, since I heard so much about leaf rollers, but I didn't find any - not one.

Maybe I'll treat the plants for leaf rollers, anyway - it can't hurt.

Steve

Louisville, KY

7 dust should work it is a leaf roller. It will be in the center leaf down deep eating on the leaves before it even comes out. It is usually a bright green worm I somtimes just squeeze the mid leaf till I get it. you can usually tell if you look close enough. You can really tell its one when you open up a new leaf and it has small things of poo all over it were it has been eating nasty pest they are.

Brian,

Thanks, I'll get some Sevin right away.

Steve

I had some Ortho Bug B Gone spray from last year.

I got on Ortho's web site, and they listed Leaf Rollers as one of the insects that Bug B Gone would kill.

I sprayed down all of my Cannas. Where there was a rolled-up leaf, I un-rolled it, sprayed the leaf and the varmint, and watched it drop to the ground and writhe until it died.

If I missed any, I'll get it tomorrow. I'm going to check my Cannas every day, from now on.

Steve

Brian,

They are everywhere.

Can I get rid of them by cutting off the infected leaves? They look dead, anyways.

Steve

They don't just live in Cannas - found some in a Black Magic EE, too.