Cardinal Climber from seeds

Centreville, VA(Zone 7a)

Hello Everyone,

I have a question. I read some where that when growing cardinal climbers from seeds, its a good idea to snip the buds that sprouts after the seedling is about 3inches to 6 inches for strong roots. Is this true.Should I do this to my seedlings

Thanks

Tweety12

Benton, KY(Zone 7a)

I never have, and mine do fine. Don't think it would hurt anything to try it on a couple and just see if it makes a difference...you never know.

Centreville, VA(Zone 7a)

Thanks Melody. Thats a good idea.

Since this is my first time with seeds i do have some more questions. Now that the seeds have sprouted and are about 6 inches tall with two leaves like wings on each side.

When do I sow them in the ground?
Do they become a plant after this stage in the peat container?

All advice is welcome.

Thanks once again

Tweety

Benton, KY(Zone 7a)

Oops...sorry I lost track of this thread...

You should be able to put them in the ground by now if you already haven't. The two leaves that appeared first are called cotyledons or 'nurse leaves' They will nourish your baby plants till they develop a root system. Then they will usually wither and fall off. The next set of leaves are called 'true leaves' and will look like regular, mature leaves on the plant. Anytime after the second set appears, you can transplant.

If you are using peat pots, make sure that the whole pot is buried...if you need to, tear off the rim down to the siol line. Anything standing above the ground will wick water away from the roots. I usually tear out the bottom of a peat pot too, but your plants won't die if you don't.

sorry, I lost track of this....

Centreville, VA(Zone 7a)

Thanks Melody. Its okay.

I transplanted the plants with the peat pot and yes buried all the way. They are still alive Thank God for that. Though i have to say they have not grown any much more and have as a matter of fact fallen doen and are all diognal instead of straight.