Need lots of help....

Marietta, GA(Zone 7b)

i am new to this gardening stuff.. and i have two beautiful scaevola plants, fan flowers... and i don t know how to take care of them. one day they look great and the next they look as if they are sulking. how often do you water? when do you let them dry out? ugh... they have looked crappy for three days now, and i am afraid i have killed them. how do you know if you have over watered a plant? somebody please help me... maybe suggest a book to help me start off... this is a picture of my "sulking" plant. help me make her happy...

Thumbnail by traceys67
Barnesville, GA(Zone 7b)

Tracey, it is hard to tell if they're in a pot or not. If so, in this DRY heat watering once-a-day is necessary.........sometimes more. If they're in a pot the watering crystals definitely help to keep it moist. Also, when watering so often it helps to feed regularly since the watering washes it away. I feed mine once a week, either 20-20-20 or fish emulsion. If they're in the ground, the same pretty much applies. They are such pretty flowers and just need a bit of TLC.

Marietta, GA(Zone 7b)

hey bugme..

thanks for your input. they are actually hanging. i just bought them from pyke's. i kind of want to transplant them into those wire moss baskets, but am afraid to until they look ok again, but then of course, i am not sure the correct way to do that either. i cut 16 cuttings and have them in 4" clay pots... and 12 of them are looking great (4 not so good)... when you say 20-20-20, (sorry to seem so ignorant) but what is that? i will give it a try.

Barnesville, GA(Zone 7b)