Ferns that Don't Spread

Central, WI(Zone 4a)

HI All,

I really do like Ferns,,,and am wanting to get some ideas as to which stay in nice little clumps and don't pop up all over the place. The last type of Ferns I had (don't ask,,,I just dug them out of my Dads woods, so I don't know what kind they were) popped up Everywhere,,,,I dug them all out,,,but must have broken some roots because I am still getting them 6 years later and have to keep taking them out.

So, after being bit once, I'm pretty shy about Ferns. Any recommendations as to which stay in clumps and don't trail underground and pop up wherever?

Thanks, Kelly

Fort Pierce, FL(Zone 10a)

Hi Kelly. I'm not a fern expert, but living in my zone any ferns put in the ground just go wild. When I moved here there were already ferns spreading through my little shade garden, even growing up the sides of my Cabbage Palm.

I left them as the were and put my containers of shade plants in among them. Now all my new ferns are put in the ground in their pots so I have pretty clumps among all the wild childs. I also have hanging ferns, petticoat ferns, that my mother grew. It's my favorite.
Pati

Central, WI(Zone 4a)

Pati,

Thanks,,,great idea putting them in pots. Have you found that the roots grow out of the hole at the bottom of the pot? See how paranoid I am,,,LOL

Good grief, you must have dug up the fern that ate New York to be that paranoid! LOL

I don't know a lot (really nothing) about growing in your zone. Would you bring the pots in for the winter? If you do, and with a shorter growing season, seems like they wouldn't have time to grow out of the hole. You could trim the roots off the bottom when you take them in.

I love having mine in pots because I can move them around as they grow. I have a Southern Wood fern that is going to the back now because it is getting so tall.

WARNING!!! Ferns can be habit forming!
Pati

Central, WI(Zone 4a)

Pati,