Vase for Iris

Pearisburg, VA(Zone 7a)

I'm brand new to Iris. Is there an Iris vase or something that allows to show the beautiful flowers inside without cutting off the next bud? This is probably a stupid question but I love taking flowers to my office where I can enjoy them longer. Any advice?
Kathy

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

Not a stupid question at all Kathy. I bring in iris, especially the fragrant ones. I cut them just when the first flower has opened. Some cultivars open better than others. I use a cylindrical glass vase about 3" across and 12" high and put pretty pebbles in the bottom of it. You can get vases like that from some florists. Pebbles are usually availabe at garden centers. Of course if you want to have a lot more stalks you'll need a larger vase. The pebbles hold the stems up straight. Just be sure to get the wilted flowers off as soon as they go. Some of the darker ones can stain surfaces after they get too far gone. I use the pebbles for my dahlias too. They work like a charm.

Schreiner's has even started selling cut iris to be delivered. Of course only in growing season.

Enjoy bringing your iris in. It's a wonderful way to enjoy them.

Pearisburg, VA(Zone 7a)

If I cut them when the first flower opens, will the remaining buds open? See - I'm REALLY new to this Iris fetish.

kathy

Gwynn's Island, VA(Zone 7b)

Yes, Kathy, the remaining buds eventually open. Just pinch off the spent ones and the others keep on blooming!

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

Sometimes all of the buds won't bloom but I've found that it's only one or two when they do that. It's certainly worth it. They last a very long time once cut.

Pearisburg, VA(Zone 7a)

wonderful ! Thanks to both of you.
kathy

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

Enjoy!

Oostburg, WI(Zone 5b)

http://cgi.ebay.com/DISCONTINUE-SILVER-CREST-FAN-VASE-FENTON-CRYSTAL_W0QQitemZ7415856938QQcategoryZ21QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem