what about hair for mulch???

California City, CA

i am a hair dresser and have heard here and there about using hair as mulch, does anyone know if its any better than just buying mulch, or have any other information about using hair in the garden?
Thanks
tammy

California City, CA

and you know what, i know this sounds nasty, but ive heard rabbit droppings are good for the garden too, but what about doggy droppings, eeww, but maybe like for the outskirts of the back yard, maybe mixed with straw or something, please dont think im strange, im just new to this and very curious.
thanks
tammy

No DOGGIE IS BAD , rabbit good. Any vegtable eating animal droppings are good for soil.So long as it is aged and not freshly put on a garden, Llama being the exception.
Look into the thread on Dung, doo doo and dirt prt one and two, will give you more info on what is good and not so good to use.I do believe their is a hair topic in one of those.
Good luck
sue

Danielsville, GA(Zone 7b)

Hair is good in a worm bed,the worms devior it.

wow interesting i would never have thought worms like hair,
sue

Painesville, OH(Zone 5b)

What about dryer lint? Could that be put in a compost pile? Tamara

West Warwick, RI(Zone 6b)

I understand that dryer lint isn't good for composting unless its from cotton clothing, also you can compost old cotton clothing, after you take off zippers and buttons and such.
edit to add: Hair is good around the garden to help keep critters out, I know it kept the shunk out from under my shed.
Dena

This message was edited May 21, 2006 11:06 AM

Cullowhee, NC(Zone 6b)

Hair is suitable for composting, as are feathers. Of these two I have tried only feathers. I put a whole pillow's worth into a compost heap last fall and they had decomposed as of March, I would say. That's pretty good considering it was cold weather most of the time.

Peoria, IL

Confession of a composter.

Bless me soil for I have composted dog poo (gasp)!