Sizing question

Painesville, OH(Zone 5b)

How do you know how many plants to put in a given container? When a plant says to plant "x" inches apart (assuming you are planting it in the ground), do you modify that when it's going in a container? I plan to be planting mostly perennials/tender perennials that I will overwinter indoors, so these plants will be in these containers more than one season. Tamara

Walpole, NH(Zone 5a)

I'm fairly new at this also but I generally look at the plant size when mature and the plant form (is it upright, full and bushy, or does it have a vining habit. Ones that tend to vine or can be used in a hanging basket I usually pot up in a medium size pot and fit in as many as I can allowing about an inch between them. A large erect growing plant or a specimen I will plant by itself. If it has a large mature size I use a large pot or repot to a larger pot as it matures. Also there is an excellent post by "tapla" on making your own potting soil and he gives an in depth look at water movement in container soils.

Hope this helps. There are at lot of members here who know a lot more than I do. Charlie

Columbia Heights, MN(Zone 4a)

I overplant my containers and it seems to work. I can't remember which catalog it was, but they were saying to divide the spacing that you would use in the garden by 2 if you were putting the plants in a container and that sort of follows what I do. I figure if it gets too overcrowed, you can always pull a plant out, which I have never done. Also, go check out the pots at the nurseries. A 10" pot of NG Impatients has 5 plants.

Painesville, OH(Zone 5b)

TY, TY! Now if the weather would cooperate, I could get outside and get these things potted up! Tamara

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)