How to start?

Gilbert, AZ

I'm toying around with the idea of creating a mini terrarium/vivarium. (what is the difference between the two anyway?) Once I have my new fish pass qt in a month I will be all set with a ten gallon glass tank. I have some beginer questions, and hopefully some one can help me. I'm new to house plants in general, so I want to start off really easy.

What kind of small, easy to care for plants will do well in such a small enclosure? I bought some moss fern and I think it would look lovely as a ground cover in the tank. I think the fancy leaf begonias are just so stunning, and a bright pink variety would make a good centerpeice.

What other decorations can I keep inside? Like quartz, river stones, a 2 teir bed in the back, etc. Where do you get the charcoal? What kind of lights are ideal? Does it need a lid? I live in AZ so it is very hot and dry, even in my house. My room is about 80-87*F and there is nothing I can really do about it, so I need some *really* tropical plants.

I am undecided on keeping any fawna inside. I'd love a small lizard or frog etc, but I don't think its enough space and I don't want to buy all the special expensive lights, pay for vet checks etc. Maybe something small and undemanding like a praying mantis. If anyone has any ideas that would be great.

And lastly...where do I buy these plants?

Thank you for your help in advance.

Missouri City, TX(Zone 9a)

Hi
I don't have any answers for you, except that once you add plants to terrarium they will create some of the humidity on their own, of course if you leave the lid off there will be less and if you leave the lid on 24/7 there will be lots. I think the amound you want will depend on the plants, conditions etc.