Trilliums

North East England, United Kingdom(Zone 8a)

Oh how I love this time of year! I have several to bloom yet but these are the first. Erectum and grandiflorum.

Thumbnail by Galanthophile

Erectum

Grandiflorum

Cuneatum

Monroe, NC(Zone 7b)

Hi Galanthophile -

Your exuberant posting is infectious! Wish I could match you, but I am new to shade gardening, and newer to digital photography! Thanks for sharing.

Do you have some pictures of your gardens from a little distance?

Peter

I'll go and take some now!

Thanks Peter. I love woodland plants so this corner of my garden is one of my favourites. I'm trying to make little woodland plantings mainly in my east border which only gets the sun first thing. I have a small garden, only about 30 feet square. I have several raised beds (desperately in need in painting!) and some alpine sinks. Thinking about getting rid off the lawn.... I cram in plants wherever I can. I inherited the mature camellias from my mother and they have been a wonderful reminder of her this spring - quite the best they have been although the flowers are fading now. What's your garden like? You say you are new to shade gardening - how come? Anyway this first one is the north border.

The north east corner where I grow most of my shade plants

The east border with bird feeders

The south border, I have alot of daphne's and tree peonies here

I replanted quite alot of this corner which is south east, this is where the Ellen Willmott epimedium is and my treasured Molly the Witch peony

Monroe, NC(Zone 7b)

Thank you for sharing. What a loved garden. The "this is home" feeling is unmistakable!

I have had gardening in my bones for all 63 years. Aboaut 4 or 5 years ago, I started to do it. It has spread into all sides of our pie-shaped, 1 acre lot, caramming into existing woods where I keep trying to thin for shade.