Astilbe 'Visions' Info

Timnath, CO(Zone 5b)

I have never grown astilbe before but I did order some this year. I got them in early April...huge bareroot clumps. I put them in the ground but have not seen any growth yet. Should I be seeing anything yet? It's been about a month since I planted them.

Any info appreciated, as I am totally new to these.

Thanks.

Chesterland, OH(Zone 5b)

Meig,
You are not seeing any leaves?
How soon after you received the plants did you get them planted?
I would think that you should be seeing quite a bit of growth on them at this point. We are similiar in zones. All of my Astible are up now.

Timnath, CO(Zone 5b)

Nope, nothing. I put them in the day after I got them. :/ I'm going to go dig around under the mulch and see if I see any growth.

Chesterland, OH(Zone 5b)

Hummm,
They certainly should be showing growth by now. Maybe you should take with the place that you ordered them from.

Timnath, CO(Zone 5b)

There's some growth so at least I know they are growing, but slowly.

Chesterland, OH(Zone 5b)

Well, they just might be 'tramatized' from shipping. KEEP THEM WATERED! Astilbel like moist the more sun the more water.

Crosbyton, TX(Zone 7a)

did yours come from sam's club?? if so i bought some too; and just threw them all out....they grew...but were UGLY...i feel like such a sinner by trashing them....but they were so ugly and the sun torched them where i had intended for them to grow....

(Zone 4a)

Did you soak them for a few hours before you planted them?

Springfield, OH(Zone 5b)

Hmm..I guess I should go see if my astilbe came back.. They didn't look too happy last year and I decided if they didn't make it I would just let them go. I don't have time to pamper plants :(

Monroe, NC(Zone 7b)