i am a horrible horrible gourd murderer

Lumberton, TX(Zone 8b)

Oh, I feel SOOOOOO bad. I'm a novice, and got the Ginger Summit book Gourds in the Garden. That's why I realized my poor gourds, which I've been growing on the patio in pots, have anthracnose. I'd planted a pot of Burpee bottle gourds and one of birdhouse gourd seeds that came out of gourds I bought at a craft store to make birdhouses (which turned out quite well). Anyway... when I realized what was discoloring and killing the leaves, I got out the secateurs and had at it before spraying with an organic fungicide. And I cut the vine! As soon as I realized what I'd done I stuck the end of the vine into the soil and watered it and shoved a length of it in as well, to root it by layering. I sincerely doubt it will recover, but what else could I have done? This was the birdhouse gourd plant.

The bottle gourd plant is looking really naked, as I cut off all the leaves that looked infected. But what's left is green, and the one gourd is probably nine inches "tall".

So, should I scrap the entire thing? I'm moving in a couple of weeks to a house with a half acre, and I plan to plant gourds there next year. I'm afraid if I take any of this to the new place, I'll just be infecting any possible crop for next year. But I'd hate to abandon the beautiful bottle gourd I still have, which is getting very near maturity.

Advice and comfort, anyone? I need it.

Crossville, TN

I have no advice on this as I have never had the problem of insects....other than grasshoppers. I hope someone comes along and gives you some sound advice.

Let me know after you get moved and I will share some seeds with you for next year!! Jo

Lumberton, TX(Zone 8b)