Newbie wanting her 1st trade

Lexington, TN(Zone 7a)

Hi, daisylou here. I'm a newbie who just started to really garden last year and I absolutely love it.I have a problem however in my zone 6/7 Tennessee yard.I am surrounded by huge trees which I love but it's the shade from this that I'm finding hard to work with.I recently purchased a book on shade gardening(Better Homes and Gardens)which has given me hope.I do have some full sun but mostly partial and full shade.I could sure use some advice and suggestions from experienced gardeners.Furthermore I have a few varieties of seed for trade or would love to recieve seed SASE.Thanks daisylou

Murfreesboro, TN(Zone 7a)

Hello "neighbor"! I'm in Zone 6 in middle TN, and also have a shady yard (thanks to all these wonderful trees that were planted years ago by the former owners of our property.) The trees are both a blessing and a curse (leaves = great source for compost, but I thought we'd NEVER finish raking!!!!)

Here's what I'm putting in my mostly-shade garden around one of our ponds; maybe the list will give you some ideas for your yard....if you're new to gardening, I'd really recommend buying impatiens in cell packs, and some caladium bulbs to get started - they're pretty easy to grow, and provide lots of nice color and lightness in a shaded yard.

Perennials:
Chelone ("Turtlehead") pink flowers
Digitalis Mertonensis (Strawberry foxglove)
Bergenia cordifolia - rosy flowers
Filipindula ("Meadowsweet") - white foamy flowers
Astilbe chinensis - pink flowers, fern-like foliage
Astilbe arendsii - mixed colors, fern-like foliage
Dicentra spectabilis ("Bleeding Heart")
Polemonium - blue flowers; variegated foliage
Huechera ("Coral Bells")
Hosta - wonderful foliage
Ostrich Fern - also for foliage
Helleborus - early color
Lamium (ground cover in a few areas not crammed with plants)

Annuals/Tender Bulbs:
Balsam Double Camellia (double-flowered impatiens)
Caladiums
Colocassia (Elephant Ear, or Taro)

Shrubs: