Asparagus info needed...

Lucama, NC(Zone 7b)

Is it too late to start asparagus now? I have never tried it before, but we love it and I would like to grow some in the garden. Thanks,
Bev

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

I just planted a few days ago. You know that asparagus is a perennial vegetable, so the bed should be a permanent one, and that you won't be able to really harvest it for a couple of years? One of those delayed gratification veggies. :)

Danbury, CT(Zone 6a)

Nourse farms has some good Asparagus information. I don't think it's too late to plant. I just recieved my order from them Friday.

http://www.noursefarms.com/planting_guide/asparagus_guide.html

Lucama, NC(Zone 7b)

No, I had no idea about the delayed gratification! But thank you all for the much needed info! Do any of you use them in a flower bed? My garden (veggie garden that is) I till up every year because of some very nasty bamboo I have lining the back of my property...but it always finds a way to my garden! Not sure where to put them in my yard! Thank you for the link!

Danbury, CT(Zone 6a)

Bev, you're welcome. I was going to have my asparagus bed in my flower garden, but then, I changed my mind and just gave it a large permanent bed in the veg garden where it will have a fence around it to protect it from deer, etc. I have 13 raised beds that I just built with my husband and two of those have permanent plantings in them. The others will rotate with other crops. You could try a raised bed...I don't know anything about bamboo other than it's invasive. I don't know how you feel about this, but could you dab some round up on the bamboo as it pops up in the asparagus? Otherwise, I don't see why you couldn't put it in the flower garden. Why not? Good luck. Happy asparagus planting.

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)