Pruning Azaleas

Montgomery, AL(Zone 8a)

Hi There Everyone! I am so glad to have found with website. Totally a savior for me due to the fact that this gardening thing, while I am enjoying it, it quite overwhelming! LOL! Anyway, here is my question...
When can I prune my azaleas? I have about 20 on my property that I purchased last August and they have grown quite large. All are about up to my shoulders. They just finished blooming about 5 days ago and all the flowers are turning brown and falling off. I need to get them under control. I can't see anything past them. Someone mentioned that I could prune them after the finish flowering...is this correct and if so that would be now, correct? How much can I take off with messing up the flowers for next year? See, I am new to this. I think I bit off more than I can chew with this property, but it so beaituful in the spring!
Sincerely,
Gail

This message was edited Apr 10, 2006 2:51 PM

Thumbnail by gailgalex
East Texas, United States(Zone 8a)

http://www2.yardiac.com/long.asp?item_id=416

hope this helps. has good info re: azalea pruning, mulching, etc.

Danielsville, GA(Zone 7b)

Like the link said "prune after the bloom"in may or june.I vote for may,because the bloom needs to complete itself,and you need to shape them early.What I have always done for best results is,take out the largest branches to the ground,and shape the rest to suit the situation.It helps me to remember that the reason to prune is "the plant is too big for where it is".What ever you decide,don't become a "hedge clipper adict" Mike

McLean, VA(Zone 6b)

Gail,