Camellias or other fall bloomers - need suggestions!

Decatur, GA(Zone 7b)

I am planning a wedding (well, my wedding) in my backyard for early October. I'm working on landscaping some shady areas in need of help, and wanted to plant some Camellias that do well in zone 7 and would be in bloom here in early October. I don't have any experience with them.
A preliminary search has given me the following suggestions:

Showa-no-sakae Camellia
Bonanza Camellia
Kanjiro Camellia
Jean May Camellia
Apple Blossom Camellia

I'm wondering if anyone has any experience with these in my area, and if there are any other suggestions.

Thanks!!

kim

Barnesville, GA(Zone 8a)

Congrats Kim!

Don't forget Brugmansias (Angel Trumpet) my best flushes are in Oct-Nov! As long as they get am sun they will look heavenly, and at night smell that way too.

Decatur, GA(Zone 7b)

Thanks, great suggestion! I'm a vegetable gardener, so this is my first time looking into flowers and shrubs and such... Brugmansias look beautiful. Do you have any favorites that you'd recommend for a beginner? Also, is there a store in our area, or do you have a favorite site to order from?

I'm really jealous of your Star Dancer!

Barnesville, GA(Zone 8a)

Kim, come to our swap in a few weeks, a lot of us will have some bigger ones that will get you off to a great start, I know I have a bunch of 2-3 ft ones that lost their tags :( I've had a couple of bad years with Star, so she's not available yet. I'll send you a link to my website so you can see the ones I have.

I know pins, fairydancer and a couple others are coming from Decatur, so it's not that far! Just a one day trip would save you a bunch of money on plants!
http://davesgarden.com/forums/t/573539/

Do you have a color theme to your wedding? It would be fun for us to help you out!

Cordele, GA

Hi Kim,

Butterfly ginger is good as well for late fall bloom and great fragrance.

Beth

Barnesville, GA(Zone 8a)