Unknown Clematis: Prune or not?

Pittsburgh, PA(Zone 6a)

Attention all clematis experts... :-)
My new home has a clematis vine, growing up a shepherd's hook. I've never grown clematis before, but have always admired everyone else's. I'd like to nurture this one.

I don't know what kind it is (Type 1 or 2 or whatever) so I didn't know whether or not to prune it back. Now it's showing signs of life/growth at most of the old buds. ('ll post a pic as soon when I get home from work ;-) )

I'm zone 6a. Any & all advice would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Cheryl

Plano, TX(Zone 8a)

Welcome, Cheryl!

I am not a clematis expert but I do have a few. I would say that if you have new growth on the old wood, do not cut it back at this point. You can see how the new growth does this summer and then you may want to cut it back by in the fall.

Pittsburgh, PA(Zone 6a)

Thanks, trunnels, for the welcome and the advice.

Here's a pic of the buds:
I'm afraid that if I prune it at this point, I'll be cutting off the future flowers, and I'm anxious to see what it is.

Thumbnail by Cheryl_103
Plano, TX(Zone 8a)

Very nice. I definitely wouldn't cut it now.

Pittsburgh, PA(Zone 6a)

Another photo, of the whole plant. Pretty spindly, but it's very early here in zone 6a. Actual height is probably about 4'.

Thumbnail by Cheryl_103
Pittsburgh, PA(Zone 6a)

Another question: how much sun do clematis need? If you notice those pines in the background of the second pic...there are 5 of those in a row along the edge of our side yard, planted above the stone wall. The lower branches have been trimmed pretty high, and I need some kind of screen along that wall, both to keep my dog in and to discourage neighborhood dogs to stay out. I'm thinking now (after seeing the beautiful clematis on Silver Star Vines' website, see the Garden Watchdog pages!) of growing clematis along maybe some wires strung between posts. (Saw it on HGTV!)