Poison Ivy

Zanesville, OH(Zone 6a)

OK, I'm new to gardening. And we recently bought our first house, which had been empty for awhile. The yards weren't maintained. We have poison ivy around the property. Last fall we sprayed what we found with Roundup. This spring, while working in the yard, I got another case of poison ivy. However, I don't think it's even popped back up yet. My husband said perhaps I got it from one of the gardening tools. Has anyone else dealt with recurring cases of poison ivy? What has worked for you? So far, Burt's Bees Poison Ivy soap and hydrocortisone has helped me...a little. Do you clean your garden tools with something to lessen the chance of contaminating yourself again? What do you use? I really want to enjoy working in my yard this year without the misery of a poison ivy rash LOL.

Thanks, Denise

Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

the plant has a chemical that is an irritant and it also causes allergic reactions to those who are sensitive to it. put your small garden inplements in the dish washer use the regular soap and run a cycle. Then spray them all with WD 40 to keep them from rusting. Wear gloves and long sleeves best idea with you who are allergic.

Ottawa, ON(Zone 5a)

We have lived with poison ivy for as long as I can remember at our cottage. We know where it lives and mostly avoid those spots. However, every 5 years or so I go around in early summer and paint or spot-spray the leaves with 2,4-D or Round-Up and usually get rid of most of it.

It's at its poisonous worst in the spring, when the oils are being produced and the plant is in full, vigorous growth. The leaves are larger in early summer and easier to paint. Use dishsoap in the herbicide to help it adhere to the leaves.