My First Datura From Seed

Austin, TX(Zone 8b)

Hello, I am somewhat new to gardening, and especially to Daturas. This is a picture of my first Datura from seeds purchased on e-bay. The plant seems very small for the huge flower that is forming. Is this normal? It is in a small (about 4") pot, and I am afraid to transplant it into a larger pot until after the flower blooms, but there is a second flower already starting to form. What should I do?

Thumbnail by lily13
Austin, TX(Zone 8b)

The flower has started to open. Here is one of the pictures that my DH just took.

Thumbnail by lily13
Austin, TX(Zone 8b)

Here is another.

Thumbnail by lily13
Austin, TX(Zone 8b)

And one more for tonight.

Thumbnail by lily13
High Desert, CA(Zone 8a)

u are growing a Datura stramonium var tatula, commonly know as Datura Le Fleur. http://davesgarden.com/pf/go/48970/index.html

if u transplant in the ground, it will grow tall to nearly 5 ft tall if not more. if u keep in the pot, growth will be limited to 2-3 ft tall. do not worry about transplanting. the plant will not notice it all. btw... La Fleur is a prolific grower. u will have plenty more flowers if u cut off spent flower. my personal preference for the seed pod to grow is in late Oct. if u leave the spent flower on the plant, it will develop into seed pods therefore not as many bloom. it is ur choice. i am merely giving u info based on personal experience. hope that helps.

Austin, TX(Zone 8b)

Thank you, MaVieRose. At this point, I am just growing them in pots. Yesterday, I transplanted a couple of smaller ones into 12" pots, and they appear to be unaffected by the process. I will re-pot this one as soon as the bloom starts to fade.