Buckeye a late leafer?

Atmore, AL(Zone 8b)

I bought a bottlebrush buckeye and right now it is still fully dormant. I have no experience with these plants. Are they usually late to leaf out?

Ellijay, GA(Zone 7a)

Buckeye's in general break bud very early! I some Red Buckeye's in 1 gallon containers which are already leafing out and were exposed to 28 degrees this morning without any apparent damage.
I would think that any stock that was wintered in your area would be fully leafed out.

conifer50

Atmore, AL(Zone 8b)

I check it every now and then to make sure it's not dead. The stem is still flexible, so I know it's alive. Maybe in the next week or two I will start seeing some action.

Minneapolis, MN(Zone 5a)

Container-grown plants will often leaf out earlier or later than their counterparts that are planted in the ground. It will often take a year in the ground to get them back to their "normal" schedule of leafing out or going dormant.
Mike

groveland, FL(Zone 9b)

bottlebush buckeye! so under used ...i'm putting in 10 in my shade garden area just can't wait to see them all bloom. aesculus parviflora.

so do you have the white or the red, (aesculus pavia) since they are different in their growth habits....white is more the bush type while the red is more tree like.

Atmore, AL(Zone 8b)

Mine is aesculus parviflora.

groveland, FL(Zone 9b)

the aesculus parviflora fairs best in shaded areas they get about 10 feet by 10 feet although you can keep them pruned down. there flowers are white longated and really nice!

Scott County, KY(Zone 5b)

E-guy:

I don't think you've got anything to worry about, except you may never have boiling water at this rate.

I have most of the native buckeyes planted here; their sequence of emergence is Aesculus pavia first every year, then Aesculus glabra, with Aesculus flava/octandra and Aesculus parviflora rounding out the spring releaf.