Backyard habitats

Frankfort, KY

I am new to Dave's Garden, brand new. Terryr found me under Shrubs and asked me to move over here. He/she says you all mostly post pictures, however, I will be glad to answer questions regarding this topic and make suggestions as to plantings if asked. Otherwise, I am looking forward to participating.

Hi kyjoy & a hearty welcome to Dave's Garden! You share a common interest with many of us here! It seems that a love of animals and of gardening goes hand-in-hand for quite a few, doesn't it? Can you tell me what kinds of wildlife you've been attracting & providing for? I'd love to hear & do share pictures if you have them.

Like you, almost everything in my yard has been planted with wildlife in mind. With our drought conditions in the SW I am ever more mindful of providing for their basic needs especially water. I have a good 30 feet of thick evergreen Indian Hawthorn shrubs on the west side of my home and it has been a treat to see all the birds that made it their home all winter. I had a garter snake in there all last summer too On my hikes I see that the desert still has some plants with seeds but they will be depleted eventually. I certainly am hoping for rain. I have put up a feeder and wll probably put up more if this drought continues. Any plants I put in this year will have to be seed or berry bearing. Sunflowers, I love!

LOL, sorry you got me started???? Welcome again!

Tonasket, WA(Zone 5a)

kyjoy, Welcome. I too have been a certified Wildlife garden. for several years. Have many birds. When I moved here about 11 years ago, there was nothing except native wild grasses and sagebrush. This is desert country. First thing I did was plant trees, even before my house was in place.

Now have many trees, and other plants. Feed birds all year, have 6 or 7 birdwaterers, a bluebird trail ( first pair of bluebirds for this year showed up today) Lots of robins. A pair of phoebes. The Goldfinches stay year round.

DonnaS