weeds or not weeds!!!! this is my question !!!

I am very very new to gardening, and have always had a tiny garden, but last year we bought a house with a massive garden, or should I say massive 'tip', anyways I have managed to get some of it looking okay, I planted some sunflower seeds which are growing beautifully - and then in one of my flower beds other seedlings appeared, which I didn't plant, so I assumed the kiddies did!!!! anyway they are growing bigger and bigger, they resemble sunflowers, except they are spouting branches too, I am watering and caring for great big massive weeds! someone said they could be tobacco plant, someone else said, could be elm trees - can anyone help me - shall I just pull them up!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi Sammi

I remeber someone saying that if you take on a new house, don't renovate the borders completely for a good year or two if you can. Well who ever said it was right in my experience, we cleared a garden which was nothing but brambles, cotoneasters and a pear tree. Once it was cleared and dug over we started to plant and seed the borders and lawn. Many plants have come up since which haven't been planted by us including a rose whos root was as thick as a mans arm had been hiding in the border just waiting for some light and nutrients. Bluebells appeared from nowhere and was already a large colony, a passion flower came up and swamped the wall and flowered in the first season and is still with us. Various other plants came too.

Now we knew the person who owned the place for 30 years before we took over. The garden had been in the same state for at least 15 and had been overgrown for about 20. Amazing the will some plants have to live.

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom