Advice on plant selection for pool area

Gastonia, NC(Zone 7b)

Hi all, new here from Gaston, NC(7a).

We're putting in a pool this spring, and would love advice on plant selection that doesn't attract bees. Needing privacy plants too, and don't want to go the leyland cypress route.

This is not our property in the photo, but it is an example of the pool.

There are no trees in the area, and it has full sun most of the day.

Thumbnail by guamgirl
Gastonia, NC(Zone 7b)

Hellooooooo, anyone alive out there?????? Wassa matter, isn't my question interesting enough???? I thought someone would have any opinion on this matter???

Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

We don't have a pool, and I'm still pretty new to gardening, so I'm not going to be much help. I like the pool, though. It looked like a kiwi bird at first glance... (Of course I was SURE I saw a non-existant dog in a different thread, so it's possible I just need my glasses checked. LOL) Were you thinking of putting a curvy bed with flowers along the edge of the walk around the pool or doing pots of tropical-y things or...? :-)

SE Arky, United States(Zone 8a)

I have LOTZ of bees and they have never been a problem around the pool, they much prefer the crepe myrtle, my fav is Natchez White, and the honey is to die for...if you have lots of bees, my suggestion would be to plant plants that the bees LOVE, as far away as possible from the cement pond...works like a charm, the crepe myrtles were here long before the pool...

Laceys Spring, AL(Zone 7a)