Under Black Walnut Tree

Goodlettsville, TN(Zone 6b)

I'm having a problem with my Heucheras under a Black Walnut tree. Problem - they die.
Has anyone had this problem? Heard some plants don't do well under Black Walnuts. Advice?

Avon, NY(Zone 5b)

Hi Dona , Black Walnut trees secrete a substance known as juglone , which is toxic to some plants and therefore don't thrive in or around the BWT. But heucheras aren't one them. I wonder if if watering might be the issue. I am no expert when it comes to heucheras, but I believe they like moisture( but well drained) and might be competing with the tree for water. Did you have a dry year? You might need to up the watering especially your plants are newly established.

Elaine

Nichols, IA(Zone 5a)

Welcome Dona_Lee, I've grown the white ones under a walnut for a few years now. A friend gave me the new one, Marmalade, and I'm not sure it's comming back this spring. It was a healthy plant from a reliable nursery, but even tho I kept it watered, it sort of faded all summer. I'm glad you asked, because I'd like to hear everyone's opinion.

Central, WI(Zone 4a)

I have a Black Walnut tree in my yard,,,,grrrrrrr. I will be putting a bed close to it. I plan on using heavy duty lining on the ground, outlining the bed with rocks and then filling in with compost. They are buggers those trees. I have an Azalea kinda close and it really isn't doing much. Will prolly move it this year.

Kelly

Avon, NY(Zone 5b)

Hi kelly,