amaryliss bulb question

Millers Creek, NC

This is my first time trying these bulbs,and I need to know how deep to plant the bulb.Isn't the top part of the bulb supposed to be exposed?

Columbia Heights, MN(Zone 4a)

Top 1/3 or so should be exposed. It helps to soak the roots overnight before you plant. Plant it in moist, but not wet potting soil and then don't water til you see some growth. Then you can start watering on a regular basis.

Millers Creek, NC

Thanks so much for the info.I have them in pots,guess I had better lift them up a bit.

Lincoln Park, MI(Zone 5a)

You don't have to soak the ones I sent you cause I soaked them good..! :o)))

Loretta...

Millers Creek, NC

Hi Demi,Thanks for the bulbs.I have them all potted up!!

Lewisburg, KY(Zone 6a)

I don't mean to hijack the thread but I was wondering about Apple Blossom bulbs, are they a good choice? I only have the old fashioned orange ones that bloom near Christmas.

If anyone had an extra or two to trade LMK. I raise lots of daylilies and hosta. Plus many more perennials that I could make a trade with.

Thanks,
Teresa in KY

Hi Teresa maybe we can make a trade,I have the apple blossom and the mini red one forgot the name right now..I have them bloom for me almost all year the apple ones smell so good..
Your Christmas one should bloom for you again,I always keep mine potted up,never let them sleep..When I put them outdoors they stay in their pots..
Don't worry about hijacking this thread we're friends and trade plants and bulbs all the time..You might wanna see what Rosie or Lauri Wilson has to trade,they have good stuff and know how to ship so your stuff arrives good and healthy..Right now we have cold Temps so I wait to get my stuff so it does'nt freeze..
I don't need anymore hostas..What other perennials do you have?LMK..

Loretta...

Union Grove, AL

Appleblossom is one of the toughest and also is lovely, even hardy in 7b if planted pretty far down, about as dependable as an amaryllis gets.